Gezellig Records releases Is There Another Language? : an ACLU benefit album featuring Mount Eerie, Dean & Britte, the Pains of Being Pure at Heart and more!

Gezellig Records is happy to release a compilation album, titled Is There Another Language?, to benefit the ACLU. Featured artists include Mount Eerie, Dean & Britta, The Pains Of Being Pure At Heart, Surfer Blood, No Men and more. Is There Another Language? is available now via Gezellig Records’ bandcamp.

Curated by Peter McCarville (of Best Friend) and Ben TO Smith (Gezellig Records founder), Is There Another Language? brings together artists from all over the country to support the ACLU. All proceeds from this compilation will go directly to the ACLU.

Additionally, a very limited edition cassette tape of the compilation is available for pre-order. All profits from the tapes will also go directly to the ACLU. The tapes will be available for purchase via Gezellig Records’ bandcamp.

Is There Another Language? also features spoken word pieces from poets Jonathan Burkhalter out of Chicago, Charlie Waddle and Brant Russell, both out of Nashville. The artwork is designed by Knoxville artist Elisa Dore with lettering done by Austin artist Paige Berry. Compilation mastering done by Brad King out of Nashville.

Mount Eerie offers a new song – “Crow” – off an upcoming, unannounced album. Dean & Britta bring a formerly tour-exclusive 7” track – “Hey Paula” – a cover of the love song by Paul & Paula. The Pains of Being Pure At Heart swoons through their track “It’s To Be Loved” – exclusive to Is There Another Language? Surfer Blood expands “NW Passage” into a full band version of the track off their most recent album 1000 Palms.

Gezellig Records artist No Men also brings a track to the compilation. “Model Citizen” appears off their debut album Dear God, Bring The Doom.

Other artists include SMLH (Raleigh, NC), Keeps (Nashville, TN), Ganser (Chicago, IL), Keathley (Norman, OK), Twin Studies (Atlanta, GA), Lylas (Nashville, TN) and Karass (Nashville, TN).

Gezellig Records is a small, independent label based out of Knoxville, Tennessee. Originally conceived in 2013 in a small apartment in Utrecht, Netherlands, Gezellig Records finally came to be in 2016. The goal of Gezellig Records is to create a cozy atmosphere and bring artists and listeners together.

Full Tracklist:

  1. Charlie Waddle – “Election Night // Hurricane // Abortion (terror in 7 stanzas) : a sestina”
  2. Surfer Blood – “NW Passage”
  3. Twin Studies – “Rise and Shine”
  4. Keeps – “Translucent Girl”
  5. Jonathan Burkhalter – “Time Passing Through the Morning”
  6. Pains of Being Pure at Heart – “It’s to be Loved”
  7. Karass – “Goodnight”
  8. Dean & Britta – “Hey Paula”
  9. Lylas – “Eaton Jam 2017”
  10. SMLH – “Took Pill
  11. Chesser – “Saturday After Work”
  12. Keathley – “Junky 16”
  13. Ganser – “Strategies for Living”
  14. No Men – “Model Citizen”
  15. Mount Eerie – “Crow”